Tags

, , , , , , , ,

One was gone before we could snag a picture.

This appetizer at 2AMYS deserves a post all unto itself. In fact I am looking up recipes now in hopes of making them myself. Why? Well, err…ok I confess: It’s because I don’t love their pizza.

Don’t hate me, please! I wanted to love it and I know it’s a favorite among many of my friends. I just find it oddly soggy and bland. There; I said it. To me, the crust lacks the well-developed flavor of a slow-risen yeast dough (which pizza dough should be) and the outside is chewy rather than crispy, which I suppose is a matter of preference.  I know, I know, that’s the way authentic Neapolitan pizza is supposed to be, but it’s just not my thing. Most people disagree with me here, so definitely try the Margherita Extra, with buffalo mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, and basil.

Margherita Extra

But that’s beside the point. Can we please just talk about the suppli al telefono? First, the name translates to “rice croquettes on the telephone” and it originated because when you bite into one, the fresh, melted mozzarella inside stretches like an old-school telephone cord.

The risotto itself is delicately tomato-flavored, and I’ve verified that it’s made with vegetable stock only (you always have to confirm this with risotto). I always ask for a little bowl of marinara for dipping the crispy, breaded and fried balls of yum, and I really think they should make that a standard addition.

You get five on a plate, and next time I am seriously getting my own.

3715 Macomb St NW
Washington, DC 20016
(202) 885-5700

EDIT: In case you were wondering about the risotto balls at Taylor Gourmet, we’ve confirmed that they are, sadly, not vegetarian. Boo!

