Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A co-worker and I decided to try Raku for lunch the other day. I’ve worked here in Dupont Circle for three years and I am kicking myself for not having gone all this time!

I’d go to Raku just to look at the food. If you’re hungry, it’s hard to beat their vegetarian bento box (just ask them to hold the tempura dipping sauce as it contains fish sauce), which offers a colorful palette of tempura-fried sweet potatoes, green beans, and broccoli, vegetable spring rolls, seaweed salad, mesclun salad, portobello salad (ask them to hold the cheese if you want a vegan meal), and an avocado-cucumber sushi roll. We’ve verified that there is no fish sauce in the spring roll.

Oh, and you get a nice tofu-miso soup to start. The meal is big enough for two to share, really. I definitely had it all to myself though, and had leftovers to take away.

And there are many, many other vegetarian (mostly vegan) options on the menu. I started to paste them all here but there were too many, which is always a plus. my coworker had the vegetarian sushi assortment:

I mean, don’t you just want to frame that? You get 15 pieces of sushi, including portobello, inari, asparagus, avocado-cucumber, and oshinko-kanpyo (picked daikon and dried calabash) rolls. It’s all quite tasty (not to mention healthy). Personally I avoid the inari (lower left) because it’s oddly sweet to me – but try it and see for yourself!

So the next time you’re around Dupont Circle (or their other location in Bethesda), head to Raku for a meal that’s almost too pretty to eat. They deliver too!

1900 Q Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
202-265-7258

