Tags

, , , , ,

I never would have tried Georgia Brown’s had it not been for a  friend’s birthday party some years ago. I was very skeptical of this southern “low country cuisine.” It was the last place i thought I’d find anything vegetarian, let alone tasty. Oh, how wrong I was! Yes, the choices are limited, but what is offered is delicious and I appreciate that. I went again last night to see some old friends and their kiddos.

First, the service at Georgia Brown’s is second to none. The staff are all friendly and attentive. Our server made it a point to put in little Ruby’s order of macaroni and cheese early so it would be ready when she finished her nap. I like it when upscale restaurant staff are nice to children.
The first order of business for the rest of us was the bread, and oh boy, those corn sticks and honey butter would be enough to keep me happy. There are biscuits too, but I personally found them a bit salty.

The two vegetarian entree choices are the Black Eyed Pea Cakes and the Vegetarian Sampler. Both are great, but the Vegetarian Sampler comes with a fried green tomato and that’s all I need to know. It’s a thick slice of green tomato and herbed goat cheese fried in a crispy coating. You even get a black-eyed pea cake in the sampler, and it’s sort of like a cross between a black bean burger and a falafel. I did need to add a bit of salt to it as I ate, but I gobbled up every bite. The blue cheese coleslaw was oddly sweet this time; I think perhaps they’ve changed the recipe (there was a grape in it…weird). The Carolina red rice was richly tomato-flavored and satisfying. One word of caution, though – if you don’t like smoked foods, make sure to ask that they not include the smoked vegetable medley. It’s not listed with the Vegetarian Sampler, but mine came with it anyway.

I think none of us actually had room for dessert, but Georgia Brown’s is one of the rare places in DC where all of the sweet treats look tempting. We settled on an order of Strawberry Shortcake to share. They do theirs with yellow cake, which was kind of dry, but the strawberries and cream were lovely.

All in all, it was a great meal and a warm atmosphere. Thank you, Georgia Browns, for understanding that southern hospitality includes making sure you offer a great vegetarian entree. I’ll be back soon!

950 15th Street, NW (between I and K Streets, NW)
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 393-4499

