Tags

, , , , ,

I promise I’ll get to posting my more complicated and time consuming recipes soon (exactly what you’re looking for, I know – Difficult Recipes), but I couldn’t resist sharing my new favorite easy recipe. You probably have all of the ingredients too, and peas and carrots are just the beginning. You could use broccoli, cauliflower, snow peas, green beans, mushrooms, baby corn, bok choy, you name it. I bet sautéed tofu cubes would be great too. But here’s the original and best, courtesy of Eric:

Ingredients:

1 cup white rice
1 tablespoon oil
4 scallions, chopped (white parts only)
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup frozen peas
1 tsp sesame seeds
1-2 tablespoons soy sauce (to taste)

Cook the rice with 2 cups of water and set aside.
In a medium saucepan, boil carrots and peas in water until carrots are just tender.
In a frying pan on medium-high heat, heat oil and add scallions. Saute for a minute.
Add rice and allow to fry and get all awesome and crispy on the bottom of the pan for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

Stir in vegetables and allow to cook for a minute.
Stir in soy sauce and cook for a few minutes.

Finally, stir in sesame seeds.
Serves two hungry people as a main dish, four as a side.

