Tags

, ,

I met some friends for drinks at Petworth’s new Chez Billy a few weeks ago and loved it. It’s a beautiful space, the bartender was chatty and helpful, and I had a delicious special of wild mushrooms on fried bread (sadly not on the regular menu) to go with my apricot-scented cocktail. I didn’t order an entree but one of my companions enjoyed the spring-y gnocchi parisienne with tender peas and pea shoots. So when we headed back for brunch the next week, I assumed there would be some tasty veggie dishes to try.

Unfortunately, pretty much every single thing on the brunch menu contained meat. Even the omelette du jour was the western, featuring ham. My only options were yogurt with granola (umm, right) or french toast. To be fair, I didn’t try the french toast and it might have been awesome. But I’m not really into sweet things for brunch and I expect to see at least one savory meat-free item on the menu, or at least some decent options for substituting (where were those mushrooms???). With neither in sight, I resigned myself to a generic combo of carb, egg and cheese and ordered the $12 croque-madame-hold-the-ham. Meh.

Chez Billy warrants a visit just for the view of the decor from the loft-like upstairs bar. And the staff have already responded to early customer criticism by lowering some cocktail prices and adding a happy hour, so who knows – maybe the menus will get a little more vegetarian friendly too. Until then, stick to drinks and take your appetite elsewhere.

Chez Billy
3815 Georgia Ave NW
Washington DC 20011
(202) 506-2080

